About David Sampson

Riding a billycart, Sydney, ~1988

I was born and raised in Sydney, Australia.

My interest in the technology of vehicles, together with my aptitude for mathematics and physics, led me to the University of Sydney to study mechanical engineering. After graduating in 1996, I wanted to continue my studies so, after a short stint with Andersen Consulting in Sydney, I moved to the UK to take up a scholarship at the University of Cambridge. I worked at the Department of Engineering on using active suspension systems to improve the stability and safety of commercial road vehicles. I graduated with the degree of Ph.D. in 2001.

Rowing, Cambridge, 1996

On completion of my studies, I joined the consulting group at MathWorks, also in Cambridge. I had worked with the company's products, MATLAB and Simulink, throughout my studies, and was keen to apply myself to projects in the automotive and aerospace industries. I am heavily involved in using statistical and optimisation methods to reduce development time, increase efficiency and reduce emissions of engines of all shapes and sizes. I also work on projects involving the modelling and control of mechanical systems, for example, automotive powertrains, aircraft landing gear, and wind turbines.

I live in the village of Impington, just north of Cambridge.

Reading a map, Switzerland, 2004

Within days of arriving in Cambridge, I was introduced to the sport of rowing. I developed into a competent oarsman and I was a regular member of the Churchill College First VIII in the late 1990s. After graduation, I continued rowing for Cambridge '99 Rowing Club for several years. Now retired from competition, I keep fit by cycling. I have remained involved in rowing as a coach for Churchill College.

Like many Australians, I enjoy following professional sports. Cricket, motor racing and tennis were among the staples in my youth. A more recent and European interest is biathlon.

I am reasonably well travelled and my favourite region is the Alps. My wife Angie and I have enjoyed many hiking trips in France and Switzerland.